Apprenticeship Excellence Awards

FRIDAY 28th September saw the our first ever awards ceremony created to celebrate the hard work and commitment of our apprentices across the UK.

The Apprenticeship Excellence awards were held at Jurys Inn, Hinckley in Leicestershire, and were attended by all trade apprentices from across the business, as well as Redrow’s regional managing directors and sub-contractor partners.

The awards saw thirteen apprentices from across all regional divisions recognised for their enthusiasm and dedication to their chosen skill. Apprentice painter and decorator, Courtney Baker-Edwards from the West Country region was also announced as the overall national winner.

The ceremony was hosted by Matthew Pratt, Regional Chief Executive, and the awards were presented by special guest and world-cup winning former rugby union star Kyran Bracken MBE.

Karen Jones, HR director at Redrow and non-executive director of the Construction Industry Training Board (CITB), said: “Our award-winning apprenticeship scheme enables new entrants in the housebuilding industry to develop the aptitude and skills needed to succeed and move fast in a competitive industry.

“The Redrow Apprenticeship Excellence awards recognise those who are going above and beyond their role to make a significant contribution to the site that they work on, and to the business as a whole. It is positive to see so many of our apprentices acknowledged for their achievements, which is representative of the phenomenal standard we are seeing rising up the ranks across the board.”

Redrow’s award-winning apprenticeship and trainee schemes are industry-leading and in 2018 alone 291 apprentices and trainees joined its workforce. Redrow has one of the industry’s best records for training and developing its staff, and as a member and patron of The 5% Club, Redrow is committed to ensuring at least 5% of its work force is made up of apprentices, graduates or sponsored students in the next five years. In practice, the business already goes far beyond this as 17% of the total workforce are trainees.

The apprenticeship scheme at Redrow provides young people, as well as those looking to make a career change, the opportunity to kick-start a successful career in a skilled trade, administration, or a technical or commercial role, through on the job training and classroom learning. Through the apprenticeship scheme, Redrow also supports entrants in obtaining an NVQ.

Courtney Baker-Edwards, third-year apprentice painter and decorator at Redrow, and the overall national winner commented: “I am really proud to have been named as the overall apprentice winner at the Apprenticeship Excellence awards. To have been picked out of all of the amazing apprentices that Redrow employs is a fantastic achievement.”

“I really enjoy working as an apprentice at Redrow, and after I finish my qualification next year I plan to train to become a trainee site manager at Redrow.”

David McGowan, a third-year plumbing apprentice at Redrow’s Colindale Gardens development, commented: “Choosing to work full time in construction is the best decision I could have made. Working as an apprentice at Redrow means I’m able to earn a salary whilst learning my trade, and I don’t think I would have gained the same experience or learnt as much as I have if I had stayed in the classroom.”

Nurturing the next generation of construction industry talent has been central to Redrow’s business since inception. Founder and Chairman Steve Morgan CBE is passionate about supporting more young people in the sector and regularly meets with Redrow apprentices to learn about their career aspirations. Well represented in improving skills and training in the industry, Redrow’s Chief Executive John Tutte chairs the Homebuilding Skills Partnership while HR Director Karen Jones is a trustee for CITB.

Take a look at the highlights video and full list of winners below.

Overall winner:

  • West Country – Courtney Baker-Edwards

Regional apprentice winners:

  • Yorkshire – Thomas Trigg
  • Eastern – Callum Cracknell
  • South Wales – Nathan Airey
  • Colindale – David McGowan
  • South Midlands – Edward Bennett
  • Southern Counties – Josh Bruce
  • East Midlands – Kyran Coates
  • Midlands – Thomas Morgan
  • South West – Joseph Page
  • West Country – Courtney Baker-Edwards
  • South East – Leigh Sudbury
  • Lancashire – Matthew Willis
  • North West – Sean Williams